Dinopic of the day 5: Give me a hand, please

Today’s a busy day for me, so all you get is a Pic of the Day. At least it is of a dinosaur, and it goes well with yesterday’s post. I took this at the Sauiermuseum Aathal (sorry, German only homepage, they are redesigning) in Switzerland.

It shows the right hand of Camarasaurus “E.T.”, excavated at the famous Howe-Stephens-Quarry on the Howe Ranch in Wyoming by the Sauriermuseum’s team under the leadership of “Kirby” Siber. Excavation started in 1992, when intitally the hand with the thumb claw pointing skywards was found. A visitor pointed and said “E.T. go home” – and the name stuck.

It is a very impressive specimen, exquisitely preserved, well prepared, and mounted in slightly better articulation than it was found in. I’ll have more pics of it and other SMA exhibits later, with some interesting (read: boring) stories to go with them – don’t want to shoot all my bolts in one go!

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy working at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.
This entry was posted in Camarasaurus, Dinopics, Dinosauria, Sauriermuseum Aathal, Sauropoda, Sauropodomorpha. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dinopic of the day 5: Give me a hand, please

  1. Pingback: Dinopic of the day 16: SMA beauties 2 | dinosaurpalaeo

  2. Pingback: Places I’ve been, dinosaurs I’ve seen XX: SMA | dinosaurpalaeo

  3. Pingback: Places I’ve been, dinosaurs I’ve seen 5.1: SMA | dinosaurpalaeo

Leave a Reply

