The MFN exhibitions 1.1: Diplodocus panorama again, now in HQ

and here’s a with-background panorama of the Diplodocus mount, this time from 36 individual pictures, all of which were taken with identical camera settings and on a tripod. EXIF says: ISO 400, 1 s exposure, 88mm lens, no flash, automatic white balance.

yeah, 1 s. That’s a long time to hold a camera still, you simply can’t do this by hand. Annoyingly, my tripod’s head has some play, so I had to be real careful not to jiggle the camera. In fact, I did: there were overall 48 photos! I simply scrapped some right away, others I put into Hugin and later disused them when I saw I didn’t need them. Generous overlap saved my ass! And call me an idiot: I didn’t take pictures of the bottom left area of the planned panorama, so there is a black area there now. AARGH!

This picture is only 5.6 MB, because I reduced it to 25% per axis (overall, it thus has only 0.25 * 0.25 = 0.0625 or 6.25% as many pixels as the full version. Email me for full version.

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy working at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.
This entry was posted in Dinosauria, Diplodocus, MfN Berlin, Sauropoda, Sauropodomorpha. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The MFN exhibitions 1.1: Diplodocus panorama again, now in HQ

  1. Mike Taylor says:

    This is great stuff! Surely the best Diplodocus photo ever published.

    But …

    You can still improve it in three ways (assuming you can add more images into the existing stitch after the event, which surely must be true).

    First, is the blackness at bottom left, as you noted. Should be easy enough to fill in, I guess.

    Second, the tip of the tail is missing. Can you bring that in?

    And third, the anterior part of the neck and the skull appear to have been shot in a somewhat posterolateral view. Can they be redone from more orthogonal photos?

    Anyway: this is awesome, and I mean that in the most literal sense of the word.

    • Ouch, didn’t notice that I had the tail tip cut off. No problem on that.

      Obviously, the anterior part of the animal was shot in posterolateral view, whereas the tail was shot in anterolateral view. That’s the nature of a true panorama: it is taken from one single viewpoint! If I moved the camera between shots I’d get a mosaic. That’s obviously more desirable for paleontology, but harder to photograph. You need to mark locations at regular intervals and correct distance on the ground. You need many more photos, or you get visible stitching lines. You need to use two sets of the images, with separate sets of control points and a lot of masks, or risk STILL getting stitching artifacts on the object further away from the camera than your object’s main plane (and yes, the Diplo ribcage is deep enough for the right side ribs to show errors if the left side is fine). So it is a lot more work, and I simply didn’t have time, nor do I think I can currently handle Hugin at that level.

      As for the black hole: I’d need to reconstruct the exact camera position, or it will be a pretty sorry stitching job to close it.

      • Mike Taylor says:

        Argh, stupid of me — after you carefully explained the difference between a panorama and a mosaic a couple of posts ago, I didn’t read this post’s description carefully enough. Yes, of course, it’s a panorama.

        But you can close the black hole for sure. Even if you’re not in exactly the right place, I think the stitcher will do a good enough job that no-one will notice. It’s not like that of the image is scientifically significant, after all!

        • I certainly plan to go back Monday in a week (same lighting, because Monday the museum is closed to the public and I can control which lights are on) and give closing the hole a try.

          The stitcher is busy re-doing the picture with the tail tip included ;)

  2. dmaas says:

    I could bring my green sheet backplate and help with photographing!

  3. Pingback: The MFN exhibition: Sauriersaal’s Far Side | dinosaurpalaeo

Leave a Reply

