Berlin wildlife: Our fox

Yesterday morning, a while after breakfast, I looked out the kitchen window and was surprised to see a fox inspecting our garden.

Idiotically, I forgot to check my camera settings and shot at 1600 ISO and with automotic choice of focus point. bah!

It wasn’t the first time I saw this Red fox individual. A few weeks ago, shortly before Christmas, I came home after dark and found the same fox sitting on the edge of the road, intently watching the neighbors’ decorated outdoor Christmas tree. The fox stayed even when I got out of the car, and was no more than 3 m from it. When I opened the trunk he looked at me, then slowly walked away.

And the fox is not the only unexpected large vertebrate here. I’ll never forget walking out of the house just after we’d bought it and were renovating it. I went to my car to get some tools, an a sunny day in May, at around noon. I heard a noise in the bushes on the other side of the road and saw….

Wild pigs inhabit the many forests of Berlin, as well as the parks and by now anything where there are bushes and trees and access. That can quickly include a garden, and you do not want to know what a garden looks like after a horde of wild pigs has been through it.

Admittedly, we live only 200 m from a fairly large forest, so it is not surprising that the pigs use our road as an access route. Still, at noon? With piglets? I’d have expected a bit more reserve.

Idiotically, many people feed the pigs, and attacks on stupid or unlucky humans and their stupid dogs are not rare. IIRC, there was a death two years ago, and one the year before, as well as some poor guy horribly maimed. Overall, about 1000 wild pigs are shot each year in Berlin, and the population is still growing.

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy working at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.
This entry was posted in Berlin, Mammal pic, Mammalia. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Berlin wildlife: Our fox

  1. A wild boar, by Toutatis!

  2. David says:

    The piglets are cute.

  3. Mike Taylor says:

    A wild boar from the Forest of Dean wandered into the play area of our village’s primary school. They had to get in an animal control guy to shoot it. Sad, but I guess it’s all part of the selection process. (I don’t know what they did with the meat.)

  4. Pingback: Mammal Monday 30: more Berlin wildlife | dinosaurpalaeo

  5. Pingback: Mammal Monday 36: lazing on a sunny afternoon again | dinosaurpalaeo

Leave a Reply

