Lazing on a sunny afternoon…..

I don’t know why – or maybe I do – but I tend to NOT photograph crocodiles in zoos. Here’s one of the rare exceptions.

False gharial (Tomistoma schlegeli) lazing in the Tierpark Berlin.

I guess crocs rarely trigger my instincts for photography because they, well, lie around in and out of the water all day doing nothing. Exceptions exist, though…..

like this young Chinese alligator (Alligator sinensis), who was at least was lying around in the water with food in its mouth.

This white Saltwater croc (Crocodylus porosus) in the Stuttgart zoo ‘Wilhelma’ at least had the good manners to adopt a pose that you don’t see all the time, with the tail strongly flexed.

Also in Stuttgart I took this shot:

Nice to get to see the below-water part for once :) Although I must admit that I am not sure at all what species this is.

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy working at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.
This entry was posted in Archosauria (non-dino), Zoos. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lazing on a sunny afternoon…..

  1. Herman Diaz says:

    “Although I must admit that I am not sure at all what species this is.”

    Some kind of alligatorid, given that the lower teeth are hidden.

Leave a Reply

