Some geo-architecture in London

pre-scheduled; I am in Teruel for EAVP meeting.

Last time, it was plants. This time, it’s fossils!

OK, it’s just a tube station, but what a tube station it is :)

It’s Green Park Station‘s exit on Piccadilly/Green Park! The entrance is built from rocks with plenty of fossils in there – marine snails, shells, the works. Here’s the plaque explaining it all – I’m too lazy to type it off.

more of the fossils….

Isn’t it cool how the locks of the shells are preserved as casts? Wonderful detail!

But the station does not only have flat walls, but also this:

The top is cut to resemble – well, I’d say it looks a bit like an ammonite, but I guess it is supposed to resemble the turritelloid snails (the Portland stone is too old to contain Turritella; the snails are Aptyxiella portlandica).

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy working at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.
This entry was posted in historical buildings etc., non-palaeo, spineless stuff (invertebrates), Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Some geo-architecture in London

  1. I use the Green Park tube every day. How have I never seen this?!?! Will go nerding later to hunt them down..

  2. himmapaan says:

    This one I have seen — once! (I rarely get to use Green Park underground)

Leave a Reply

