It’s time to get this show on the road!

Greeeting y’all! And welcome all that da*n foreigners from other sciences! (kudos to Jeff Foxworthy)

About a year ago I started the PE Blog for the world’s first fully electronic (and, btw, free for authors and readers!) palaeontological journal Palaeontologia Electronica, for which I am a style editor. Stupidly, I had convinced the other editors there that a blog would be a good idea, and volunteered to do most of the work. After all, how difficult can it be to have a short article ready for each new paper the journal publishes? I had zero experience with blogs, except for commenting now and then at the wonderful SVPOW, but I thought things wouldn’t be too bad. Little did I know…. but that’s for another post.

In the past 6 months I have repeatedly heard the PE blog referred to as “your blog”, but it is definitely not mine. I write the majority of posts there, but it is the journal’s blog, and while the other editors give me a very long leash, I can’t express my personal opinions there, I can’t decide on the appearance of the blog, and most importantly I can’t post on non-journal topics. Not that I really feel like blogging every day. But occasionally things pop up that suggest themselves for a blog post. Thus, here’s now a place for them! Rants, raves, whines, expect them all! Obviously, most of the content will be palaeo related, more specifically dinosaur palaeo related. But there will be other stuff, too. The odd smattering of religion, in the form of caustic remarks on creationism and similar nonsense, occasional excursions into OpenTTD and other games stuff, and possibly a pic-of-the-day category.

What I promise not to do is list each and every new dinosaur finds that’s making the rounds anyways. I won’t copy press releases (unless they are mine), and I won’t waste everybody’s time with eternal repeats of other people’s posts.

So, welcome all, I hope you enjoy reading my stuff, or at least learn something worthwhile 🙂

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy working at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.
This entry was posted in Announcements. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s time to get this show on the road!

  1. Matt Wedel says:

    Thanks for the link-love. And congrats on starting a blog where you can present yourself to the world unfiltered. Bring the pain!

  2. Pingback: 2011 dinosaurpalaeo in retrospective | dinosaurpalaeo

Leave a Reply

