An elephant evolution mosaic

The Tierpark Berlin has a large Elephant House, where they keep a sizeable number of African and Indian Elephants, as well as manatees and Indian rhinos.The latest additions are two Elephas babies; here’s one:

and here’s one of the rhinos, sleeping (again! Darn lazy mammals!)

But that’s not what this post is about. In the Elephant House there is a mosaic mural depicting the evolutionary history of elephants. Die Entwicklungsgeschichte der Rüsseltiere is the title. I guess it is as old as the building and thus dates form 1989. It looks a lot older to me, but back in 1989 that was still East Germany, which means it looks like West-German ’60s and ’70s.

And here it is in all its glory, thanks to stitching in hugin. Email me for full-sized version.

(click for larger view)

In fact, there is a part that goes around the corner, which I did not include in the panorama above.

As you can see in this part, the mosaic was created by one Ortraud Lerch. I couldn’t find much information on her easily (i.e., I was too lazy to go beyond the first few google hit) except that she seems to have been quite an “in” DDR-art gal.

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy working at the Museum für Naturkunde Berlin.
This entry was posted in Mammal pic, Mammalia, Zoos. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An elephant evolution mosaic

  1. himmapaan says:

    Wonderful. And I would very much the full-sized version, please!

  2. himmapaan says:

    ‘Would very much like‘ I meant, of course.

  3. Steve P says:

    The Burian influence was strong with with this one.

  4. I have still some old pictures from the 50-ties in my personnal old books collection …it is a “series ” about elephant evolution
    The sources of this antique Swiss-Belgian “chromos” collection was originally conceived in Tierpark Berlin , Germany ( as is mentioned in the original album )
    This (cherished ) things were my initiation as an 10 years old boy , into biology … I also devoured all that ” chocolates” to get the pictures …

    http://tsjok45.multiply.com/photos/album/175#photo=1

Leave a Reply

