Berlin Archaeopteryx

Dave Hone posted a link list to his own posts with Archaeopteryx in them. A very handy thing to have, as Dave has the best archive of online photos of the beast. What he doesn’t have is close-ups of the Berlin specimen, so I thought today a good day to post a few. I recently was able to snap a few shots when Jingmai O’Connor was visiting Berlin and inspecting it – I do not wish to bother the curators for opening the safe and pulling the lil’ bird out when I do not have a real research interest.

Here’s a total; detail shots below the fold. As always, click through for larger size, or yell in comments/email for full size!

About Heinrich Mallison

I'm a dinosaur biomech guy
This entry was posted in Aves, Dinopics, Dinosauria, Maniraptora, MfN Berlin, Theropoda. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Berlin Archaeopteryx

  1. David Hone says:

    “What he doesn’t have is close-ups of the Berlin specimen”. Actually I do, they’re just on film and I haven’t dug them out or scanned them or got permission to publish them. Yet. 🙂 Still, great to see these, thanks for sharing. It’s been too long since I’ve seen this one.

  2. conniedekker says:

    My name is Connie Dekker and I seek permission to publish a photograph of an Archaeopteryx on the childrenpage for the monthly newspaper Dwars.

    The newspaper  Dwars is run by volunteers and distributed freely in the neighbourhood East-Amsterdam, the Netherlands.  

    As we have no budget, my Question is: is it possible to publish a photograph of the Archaeopteryx without costs but with mentioning of the name of your organization and other relevant information? The photograph I would like to use is the whole A. and a head or wing (not sure yet)

    Thank you so much for your attention, best, Connie

    a link to previous pages for DWARS: https://www.flickr.com/photos/87312673@N00/albums/72157682653019164

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.